Tags

, , ,

How big is your ego? When we discuss ego it is usually about someone that is arrogant. But what about those of us who do not fully believe in ourselves? What about those of that fear success? One of my favorite poems is Our Greatest Fear by Marianne Williamson. I was going to use apart of the poem in my post but now I think the whole poem is best to surmise my feelings in this post:

 

Our Greatest Fear —Marianne Williamson

It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous,talented and fabulous?Actually, who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.

There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other

People won’t feel insecure around you.We were born to make manifest the glory ofGod that is within us.It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear,

Our presence automatically liberates others.

 

 

For a long time my small ego made me fear success and almost caused my dream to be deferred. I was terrified of succeeding because people would expect more of me and what if I could not deliver. I had to learn that I was doing myself a great disservice. I was harming myself with self-depreciating conversation. I want to succeed so with my success and with me growing my ego must be enlarged. It has to assert itself and say I too am destined for greatness.

 

We have to believe beyond measure and be liberated as the poem says from our own fear. To inspire others we must first free our mind, body, and spirit from the guise of fear. We have look fear dead in the eyes and say you do not scare me. A dream deferred is the biggest failure of them all. Especially, if we stood in our own way, get out of your own way. Succeed because we are not inadequate as the poem says we are indeed powerful. Re-claim your power in life. Stop allowing mental blocks to hold you back. With success comes failure it is indeed inevitable but do not allow failure to cripple you. Do not allow it to be a crutch. Use it as a stepping stone onto your ladder of success.

 

Do you have an ego problem? Are you consumed with insecurity and doubt? Share your thoughts below.