Good morning! How are you? It is National Bullying Awareness Month. Bullying is dead wrong. It’s not some perverse rite of passage into adulthood. It is a demeaning and emotionally crippling act. As a teen I was bullied I went from being made to feel like the prettiest girl in the world to feeling like dirt on the bottom of someone’s shoe. I was teased mercilessly. I was told that the boy who bullied me liked me and that’s why he targeted me. You don’t demean and hurt someone you like. When my daughter was being bullied by an older boy I told her don’t let anyone disrespect you…ever. She felt empowered and would fight back with her wit and words. In honor of this month I will share my anti-bullying piece, “Ugly”. I hope someone sees this and also feels empowered.

 

U-G-L-Y you ain’t got no alibi

You ugly

You ugly

U-G-L-Y heard that word so much I used to think that was my first name

Look up that word in the dictionary and I would have sworn there was a picture of me

Look at me

Take a good look

You think by looking at me you know me

You don’t know me

You don’t know my struggle

It was UGLY

Looking in the mirror is pointless

When I know the horror staring back at me

I just want to break it and slam all the hurt away

UGLY

Could not even walk down my block

My name UGLY would ring out like a fire alarm

Juice containers being thrown my way along with that nasty name

UGLY

That one word has always conjured up so much pain and trauma for me

Confidence was stolen from me how could I believe in me

UGLY

Pretty yeah those were my sisters, my friends, not me

Always the ugly duckling never shed that awful cloak

It is devastating when those closest to you believe UGLY is your name

Fighting to take back the power that name took away

You pity me but secretly you are elated that you don’t look like me

Let me tell you something

Beautiful is this creamy caramel skin, almond eyes, and sweet smile

Don’t pity me; I pity you

Wanting me to stay down in the pit of despair

You don’t love me

I don’t need you anymore

Beauty is now synonymous with me

My daughter gave me back my beauty

Daily I look at her and smile

Fighting back tears for she is stronger than me

She is beautiful and she knows it

I remind her that she is beautiful just the way she is

Like a butterfly freed from its cocoon I am free

Liberated from all the ugliness

Flying above it all and coming back down to face my reflection

Beaming with pride I look in the mirror and say you are BEAUTIFUL!